fb tracking

Letters from State Officials to Secretary Azar

Officials from Seven States Demand Trump Administration Use Its Available Powers to Make Medicines Affordable

AR Letter to Azar (3 Officials) DE Minor-Brown Letter ID McCrostie Letter ID Davis Letter ID Smith Letter ID Wintrow Letter ID Jordan Letter IL Hadden Letter IL Martin Letter IL Guzzardi Letter IL Steans Letter ME Millett Letter WI Reimer Letter WI Sinicki Letter WI Sargent Letter WI Clancy Letter WI Maldonado Letter WI Billings Letter WI Hansen Letter WI Schreiber Letter WI Carpenter Letter WI Johnson Letter WI Smith Letter IA Giddens Letter IA Grooters Letter IA Morrissey Letter IA Schwartz Letter

On July 9, 2020, Public Citizen, the Action Center on Race & the Economy, the Center for Popular Democracy, People’s Action, Social Security Works and other groups delivered 27 letters signed by 29 local and state governmental officials demanding U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services Alex Azar use the government’s executive authority to authorize generic competition and mandate widespread manufacturing for forthcoming COVID-19 treatments and vaccines. See attached for the letters (PDFs).

Table 1 – Letters Sent By Local and State Officials
Letter # Official’s Name Official’s Title State
1 Donna Massey Justice of Peace, District 6 AR
Lloyd A. Halcomb, Jr. Pine Bluff City Council Member, Ward 1 AR
Bruce Lockett Pine Bluff City Council Member, Ward 4 AR
2 Melissa Minor-Brown, MSN, RN State Representative, District 17 DE
3 Chris Schwartz Black Hawk Country Supervisor IA
4 Pat Morrissey Waterloo City Council Member, Ward 3 IA
5 Ross Grooters Pleasant Hill City Council Member IA
6 Eric Giddens State Senator, District 30 IA
7 Maryanne Jordan State Senator, District 17 ID
8 Melissa Wintrow State Representative, District 19 ID
9 Muffy Davis State Representative, District 26 ID
10 John McCrostie State Representative, District 16 ID
11 Elaine Smith State Representative, District 29; House Minority Caucus Chair ID
12 Heather Steans State Senator, District 7 IL
13 Will Guzzardi State Representative, District 39 IL
14 Matthew J. Martin Alderman, Chicago’s 47th Ward IL
15 Maria E. Hadden Alderman, Chicago’s 49th Ward IL
16 Rebecca J. Millett State Senator, District 29 ME
17 Jeff Smith State Senator, District 31 WI
18 LaTonya Johnson State Senator, District 6 WI
19 Tim Carpenter State Senator, District 3 WI
20 Leah Schreiber Johnson Oak Creek-Franklin Joint School District School Board Member WI
21 Robert Hansen Greenfield School Board Clerk WI
22 Jill Billings State Representative, 95th Assembly District WI
23 Melissa Sargent State Representative, 48th Assembly District WI
24 Christine Sinicki State Representative, 20th Assembly District WI
25 Daniel Riemer State Representative, 7th Assembly District WI
26 Fabi Maldonado Racine County Board Supervisor WI
27 Ryan Clancy Milwaukee County Supervisor WI