fb tracking

Citizens Trade Campaign: What is CAFTA Fact Sheet

By Citizens Trade Campaign

Download the PDF

The Central American Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA), is a regional agreement between the U.S. and five Central American countries: Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua and Costa Rica, the negotiations for the terms of which concluded in December 2003, (though Costa Rica finished a month later). The Dominican Republic, still in talks with the US, could “dock” onto the agreement at any time. The draft text of the agreement, never released to the public or Congress during negotiation is expected to be released in late January/early February 2004.