Whip Chart

    where your senators stand:


    • Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.)*
    • Carl Levin (D-Mich)*
    • Daniel Akaka (D-Hawaii)
    • Mark Begich (D-Alaska)*
    • Barbara Boxer (D-Calif)
    • Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio)*
    • Roland Burris (D-Ill.)*
    • Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.)
    • Robert Casey (D-Pa.)*
    • Kent Conrad (D-N.D.)
    • Chris Dodd (D-Conn.)
    • Byron Dorgan (D-N.D.)
    • Dick Durbin (D-Ill.)*
    • Russ Feingold (D-Wis.)
    • Diane Feinstein (D-Calif.)*
    • Tom Harkin (D-Iowa)*
    • Dan Inouye (D-Hawaii)*
    • Tim Johnson (D-S.D.)
    • Ted Kaufman (D-Del.)*
    • John Kerry (D-Mass.)
    • Richard Lugar (R-Ind.)
    • Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.)*
    • Barbara Mikulski (D-Md.)*
    • Patty Murray (D-Wash.) *
    • Bill Nelson (D-Fl.)*
    • Mark Pryor (D-Ark.)
    • Jack Reed (D-R.I.)*
    • Harry Reid (D-Nev.)
    • Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.)*
    • Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.)*
    • Mark Udall (D-Co.)*
    • Tom Udall (D-N.M.)*
    • Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.)*
    • Jim Webb (D-Va.)*
    * Cosponsor


  • Evan Bayh (D-Ind.)
  • Scott Brown (R-Mass.)
  • Ben Cardin (D-Md.)
  • Mary Landrieu (D-La.)
  • Frank Lautenberg (D-N.J.)
  • Blanche Lincoln (D-Ark.)
  • Robert Menendez (D-N.J.)
  • Jon Tester (D-Mont.)


  • John Barrasso (R-Wyo.)
  • Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.)
  • Kay Hagan (D-N.C.)
  • Orrin Hatch (R-Utah)
  • Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.)
  • Ben Nelson (D-Neb.)
  • John Rockefeller (D-W.V.)
  • Arlen Specter (D-Pa.)
  • Mark Warner (D-Va.)


  • Bob Corker (R-Tenn.)
  • Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.)
  • David Vitter (R-La.)


  • Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.)
  • Max Baucus (D-Mont.)
  • Bob Bennett (R-Utah)
  • Michael Bennet (D-Colo.)
  • Jeff Bingaman (D-N.M.)
  • Kit Bond (R-Mo.)
  • Sam Brownback (R-Kan.)
  • Richard Burr (R-N.C.)
  • Robert Byrd (D-W.Va.)
  • Thomas Carper (D-Del.)
  • Saxby Chambliss (R-Ga.)
  • Tom Coburn (R-Okla.)
  • Susan Collins (R-Maine)
  • John Cornyn (R-Tex.)
  • Mike Crapo (D-Idaho)
  • Jim DeMint (R-S.C.)
  • Al Franken (D-Minn.)
  • Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.)
  • Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa)
  • Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Tex.)
  • Dan Inouye (D-Hawaii)
  • Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.)
  • Herb Kohl (D-Wis.)
  • Jon Kyl (R-Ariz.)
  • Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.)
  • George LeMieux (R-Fl.)
  • Joe Lieberman (I-Conn.)
  • Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.)
  • John McCain (R-Ariz.)
  • Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska)
  • Jim Risch (R-Idaho)
  • Pat Roberts (R-Kan.)
  • Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.)
  • Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.)
  • Richard Shelby (R-Ala.)
  • Olympia Snowe (R-Maine) 
  • Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.)
  • George Voinovich (R-Ohio)
  • Ron Wyden (D-Or.)


  • Judd Gregg (R-N.H.)
  • Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.)

Financial Reform Initiatives

Join Our Social Networks



The Senate bill passed on May 20 without the Merkley-Levin amendment. Your calls worked -- we built enough support to pass the amendment! But in the last two days before the bill passed, Republicans blocked a vote on it twice. We never even got a vote!

But your calls still helped shape the bill. You prevented any weakening of the current language, which was a real danger on the Senate floor. The current language gives regulators authority to write rules that would bar the same risky trading targeted by the Merkley-Levin amendment (the amendment would have made the rule mandatory rather than just giving regulators discretion). Thanks again, and you should be proud!


Copyright © 2017 Public Citizen. Some rights reserved. Non-commercial use of text and images in which Public Citizen holds the copyright is permitted, with attribution, under the terms and conditions of a Creative Commons License. This Web site is shared by Public Citizen Inc. and Public Citizen Foundation. Learn More about the distinction between these two components of Public Citizen.

Public Citizen, Inc. and Public Citizen Foundation


You can support the fight for greater government and corporate accountability through a donation to either Public Citizen, Inc., or Public Citizen Foundation, Inc.

Public Citizen lobbies Congress and federal agencies to advance Public Citizen’s mission of advancing government and corporate accountability. When you make a contribution to Public Citizen, you become a member of Public Citizen, showing your support and entitling you to benefits such as Public Citizen News. Contributions to Public Citizen are not tax-deductible.

Public Citizen Foundation focuses on research, public education, and litigation in support of our mission. By law, the Foundation can engage in only very limited lobbying. Contributions to Public Citizen Foundation are tax-deductible.