Photograph of Elizabeth Warren

 “[C]orporations are not people. People have hearts, they have kids, they get jobs, they get sick, they cry, they dance. They live, they love and they die. And that matters. That matters. That matters because we don’t run this country for corporations, we run it for people.

U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren
speaking at the 2012 Democratic
National Convention

Read more about Senator Warren

Gala Emcee:  Amy Goodman


Mark A. Chavez and Jonathan E. Gertler • Caragh Glenn Fay, Joseph W. Fay, Thomas Fortune Fay, Annie P. Kaplan and Molly Patricia Hoffman • Andrew S. Friedman • Glenn Garland • Sherry Gold • Frederick Henninger • Dr. Neil Holtzman • Michael P. Rooney • Steve Silberstein • Steve Skrovan and Shelley Powsner

Gala Sponsors

Champions of Justice
Jon Cuneo, Pamela Gilbert and Charles LaDuca • Anne Hale Johnson • Patrick M. Regan, Salvatore J. Zambri, Victor E. Long and Paul Cornoni • United Brotherhood of Carpenters

Defenders of Democracy
Jason Adkins • American Association for Justice • Communications Workers of America • Tim Dollar, Jeff Burns and Tim Becker • William H. Harrell • International Brotherhood of Boilermakers, Iron Ship Builders, Blacksmiths, Forgers and Helpers • George F. Farah, Victoria S. Nugent, Kit A. Pierson and Joseph M. Sellers • Mike and Louise Malakoff • Patrick A. Malone • Cyrus Mehri and Steve Skalet • Natalie Sticesen • Beth Terrell • United Food & Commercial Workers International Union • George A. Zelcs

Super Citizens
The American Constitution Society • Susan Anstrand • Lisa Banks, Debra S. Katz, Avi Kumin and David Marshall • Roxanne Conlin • Electronic Privacy Information Center • Sylvan Feldstein • Robert L. Habush • David Halperin • Jim Hightower • Al Kramer • Jack H. Olender • Michelle A. Parfitt, James F. Green, Christopher V. Tisi, Lawrence J. Pascal and Sidney Schupak • United Steelworkers

Board of Directors

Jason B. Adkins (Chair, Inc.) • Jim Bildner • Mark A. Chavez (Chair, Foundation) • Joan Claybrook • Barbara Ehrenreich • Robert C. Fellmeth • Andrew S. Friedman • David Halperin • Jim Hightower • Joy Howell • Annie Leonard • Cynthia Renfro • John Richard • Steve Skrovan • Anthony So

Public Citizen’s 2014 Gala

Featuring U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren

Senator Elizabeth Warren accepting the Golden Boot award. Find out what Senator Warren had to say.

Public Citizen’s president, Robert Weissman, welcomes the guests.

Dr. Wolfe and Jim Hightower attend the gala
Picture of Senator Elizabeth Warren, Public Citizen president Robert Weissman, and radio host Jim Hightower

Dr. Anthony So; Dr. Sidney Wolfe, founder and Senior Adviser to Public Citizen’s Health Research Group; and radio commentator Jim Hightower engage in spirited conversation.

Jim Hightower, Robert Weissman, and Senator Warren pose for the camera.

Check out more pictures from the gala (links to


Wednesday, May 14, 2014


National Press Club
529 14th St. NW, 13th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20045

Founded in 1971 as the people’s voice in the nation's capital, Public Citizen advocates for a healthier and more just world by making government work for the people, defending democracy and resisting corporate power. In the spirit of those values, we have created a new award — the Golden Boot — to celebrate those who have worked tirelessly to defend the rights of the people and our democracy.

We are thrilled to present the first Golden Boot award to Senator Elizabeth Warren.

Public Citizen will recognize Senator Warren for protecting consumers, inspiring the creation of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, holding Wall Street banks accountable and serving as a leader who demands that our economy work for everyone, not just the privileged few.

Honorary Hosts:

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi, House Democratic Leader • Senator Richard Blumenthal • Senator Sherrod Brown • Senator Al Franken • Senator Tom Harkin • Senator Edward J. Markey • Senator Robert Menendez • Senator Barbara A. Mikulski • Senator Sheldon Whitehouse • Representative Bruce Braley • Representative Steve Cohen • Representative John Conyers Jr. • Representative Peter DeFazio • Representative Rosa L. DeLauro • Representative Donna F. Edwards • Representative Keith Ellison • Representative Alan Grayson • Representative Raúl M. Grijalva • Representative Barbara Lee • Representative John Lewis • Representative Michael H. Michaud • Representative George Miller • Representative Mark Pocan • Representative John P. Sarbanes • Representative Janice D. Schakowsky • Representative Chris Van Hollen • Representative Henry A. Waxman


Greg Beck • Joan Claybrook • Pamela Gilbert • Deepak Gupta • Alan B. Morrison


Amy Goodman

Copyright © 2016 Public Citizen. Some rights reserved. Non-commercial use of text and images in which Public Citizen holds the copyright is permitted, with attribution, under the terms and conditions of a Creative Commons License. This Web site is shared by Public Citizen Inc. and Public Citizen Foundation. Learn More about the distinction between these two components of Public Citizen.

Public Citizen, Inc. and Public Citizen Foundation


Together, two separate corporate entities called Public Citizen, Inc. and Public Citizen Foundation, Inc., form Public Citizen. Both entities are part of the same overall organization, and this Web site refers to the two organizations collectively as Public Citizen.

Although the work of the two components overlaps, some activities are done by one component and not the other. The primary distinction is with respect to lobbying activity. Public Citizen, Inc., an IRS § 501(c)(4) entity, lobbies Congress to advance Public Citizen’s mission of protecting public health and safety, advancing government transparency, and urging corporate accountability. Public Citizen Foundation, however, is an IRS § 501(c)(3) organization. Accordingly, its ability to engage in lobbying is limited by federal law, but it may receive donations that are tax-deductible by the contributor. Public Citizen Inc. does most of the lobbying activity discussed on the Public Citizen Web site. Public Citizen Foundation performs most of the litigation and education activities discussed on the Web site.

You may make a contribution to Public Citizen, Inc., Public Citizen Foundation, or both. Contributions to both organizations are used to support our public interest work. However, each Public Citizen component will use only the funds contributed directly to it to carry out the activities it conducts as part of Public Citizen’s mission. Only gifts to the Foundation are tax-deductible. Individuals who want to join Public Citizen should make a contribution to Public Citizen, Inc., which will not be tax deductible.


To become a member of Public Citizen, click here.
To become a member and make an additional tax-deductible donation to Public Citizen Foundation, click here.